customer Reviews:

Call Us: 434 392 7275

Spring & Fall: Fri - Sat - Sun 8:00a.m-5:00 p.m

Summer: Daily 8:00 a.m - 5:00 p.m

Reservations Recommended. Space is limited.

Team Building & groups can request anytime.

Book on our new website

Sandy River Outdoor Adventures 

147 Monroe Church Rd. Rice VA 23966

All Right Reserved.

Visit the largest Central Virginia Adventure Park, Zipline Virginia

Privacy Policy

​​​​​​ZipLining at Sandy River Outdoor Adventure Park in Farmville Virginia

 

434-392-PARK

Outdoor Adventures

  Family Fun!..

Review by Leslie on 7/28/16 8:12 PM

This was a fantastic trip for the whole family. We read about the park in Richmond Magazine and thought it would be a great thing to do as a family. My son, 10, daughter, 13, and my husband all had a great time and look forward to coming back again.

Awesome!..

Review by Maura on 7/21/16 1:28 PM

I purchased this for my son and I to do for part of his 16th bday present. He is not one who exudes confidence and I was really worried about the challenge...he ROCKED it and I even overcame fears of my own. Best ever ... Wonderful Staff...friendly, helpful and challenging! Love it. Recommending to all of my friends.

Incredible time!..

Review by Hobbit on 7/21/16 9:53 AM

My husband and I bought this deal on groupon, it was a 3 hour drive but very worth it! The obstacles were much more challenging than expected and the ziplining was a blast! The staff was very helpful and nice. We would definitely go again!

Wonderful Experience..

Review by theKeowns on 7/15/16 11:36 AM

Wow, we were on vacation visiting our son and wanted something fun to do. I looked online for things to do around Charlottesville. I came across the Adventure Park at Sandy River Retreat. Told my husband about it, and he was a little apprehensive. We had Zip Lined before, but never done anything like the obstacles before. I booked online, which was very easy. When we got there we were Greeted by the Nicest people. The owner Mark and his staff were GREAT!! My son had a great time, doing all the courses. My husband and I struggled a bit on some of the ropes, but the Girls assisted us and got us straightened out....no pun intended!! If we are ever in the area again, we will be there!! If you are going to be in the area, you Should go!!! It is a Great experience for ALL ages!! Wonderful time with Wonderful People!!!!

Great time!..

Review by Rick in VA on 7/14/16 10:49 PM

Having two teenage boys, full of energy, outdoor time is a must. We got to the location not knowing exactly what to expect. We anticipated a fun time with so so challenges. We were wrong. The course is very challenging when you do the obstacles as intended. At the end of the day, all three of us were worn out, but very pleased with our accomplishments. Safety is spot on. For the faint of heart and those afraid of heights, worry no more. The safety gear positively locks you to the cable system and does not fully release you until both feet are on the ground. The redundant system has you secured no matter what situation or obstacle presents itself. The park is absolutely clean and very imaginitive. The staff is excellent and professional. I'd recommend this outdoor adventure to anyone who likes a thrill.

Great time!..

Review by Kim on 7/13/16 4:46 PM

We had a wonderful time at Sandy River Retreat! We stayed in the 2 bedroom cabin and my extended family stayed in the 3 bedroom. Very cozy and nice for a cabin. The ropes course was the highlight of the weekend and was more than we expected. Challenging yet fun, and I felt it was very safe and did not worry about my son during the coarse. We will return for another weekend soon!

Great place!!!..

Review by Alicia on 7/9/16 6:45 PM

The Sandy River Retreat was amazing!! I have never stayed in a cabin before and I was very skeptical. I had heard this one was very nice and furnished so we decided to give it a try since it was right next to the aerial obstacle course that we wanted to try (on same property). I was shocked. It was extremely clean and very cozy. Full kitchen stocked with everything you would need and the entire place was very clean and newly renovated. I thought the cabin may have been new, so I asked; it's 13 years old but it looks like it was just built! They have kept very good care of it. I would also like to add that I am a pretty picky person when it comes to where I sleep at night and I could not have been more comfortable here. The Chalet was such a cute little cabin (600 sq ft)! My husband and 15 pound dog loved it, too! You cannot even tell that they allow pets here, it smelled nice and welcoming and there was no animal hair anywhere. They provided full-sized soaps and very nice towels. There was even lotion and Q-Tips in the bathroom for us. We were told by Candice to help ourselves to the fresh veggie garden out back and had free roam of the property. It was very relaxing. Very quiet and peaceful. The obstacle course was fun and just what we were looking for. It took us about 2.5 hours to get us through after a heavy rain. It was nice when we went because no one else was there until close to the end and a large group showed up. I never felt like I had to worry about safety and there was always an observer. I would go again, but after going this once, I already know that I wouldn't be able to expect my 8 year old son to go through that course. It's tough for those of us with short legs!! LOL The cabin is very close to Farmville, VA which has everything you might need/want. We ate at Charley's Waterfront Café while we were there and was completely impressed there as well! I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It's very reasonably priced for what you get and I loved the entire experience. My husband and I will definitely be back and we will probably bring friends/family next time!!

Great place, even for "big kids" ..

Review by Zippy on 7/1/16 7:55 AM

If you're in your 20s and enjoy adventure, this is the place to go! Challenging obstacles, great zip lines and wonderful instructors show you the ropes and make you feel totally comfortable. Cant wait to go back!

APSRR..

Review by Sandy on 6/26/16 10:16

An absolute blast! For one being afraid of heights, I was too busy concentrating on the task at hand to worry about the distance above the forest floor. The teenagers zipped thru the obstacles like little spider monkeys; we older folks got thru remarkably well (no one fell off the ropes), and we even found muscles we didn't know we had. The staff shadow you from the ground to make sure you don't run into a problem or have a question and they may even offer you a "cheat" if you want it. Even if you were to fall, the safety apparatus is beyond reproach (I had even considered dangling just for the heck of it). Will definitely do it again.

Lots of fun and challenging too!!..

Review by Tony on 6/24/16 8:43 PM

I was expecting to have fun and be challenged... well, it was a LOT of fun and I was challenged more than I expected.. the obstacles were good and well thought out... The zip lines were a lot of fun... 2 of them could be redone a little. One note to make is that the safety system is second to none. That should make everyone feel comfortable... I just loved the whole park.. I can't wait to go back and see what new things they have planned!

Awesome!.. 

Review by LadyTarzan on 10/22/16 6:46 AM  

We had a great time on the ropes course!!! I was very impressed with the safety measures / locking mechanisms on the gear, and felt good knowing that the owners took exceptional precautions in purchasing high-quality gear with safety in mind. The facility has several courses ranging from beginner to experienced --and numerous zip lines from tree to tree as well as from tree to ground. The facility is well-maintained & staff is friendly and helpful. Looks like a great place for a family reunion / company retreat as well. Prices are reasonable & affordable as well. Beautiful property!!!